Leave a comment

Young guns star as Galway grab Derry win.

Well what can I say, I am a happy man tonight looking back at that performance. I will be honest, I didn’t see us coming away with the win but the young lads proved their worth and deserved their 4 point win in Derry. I won’t feed you with a match report, you will see enough of them, instead I will give a brief summary of what I made of our performance.

  • Corner backs: Both Kelly and Forde on top, always out in front of their men and that can be said for the rest of the defence also, they all did their part. If I had to pick one standout performer, it would have to be Colin Forde.
  • The Galway boys tackled hard and where always working back, it looked Donegal-esque at times. There was one stage in the first half when Nicky Joyce in fullforward, ran all the way from his position and went down the field to tackle a Derry man on the 45 in our half, it was heartening to see. He worked hard all day, as did the men around him.
  • Michael Martin and Danny Cummins had two great performances today and looked sharpe throughout.
  • Wing-Back Bradshaw showed a good attacking display, grabbing himself a goal, he was an asset going forward.
  • Midfield, it was 50/50 but Galway began to get on top at the end of the first half, both the young lads O’Curraoin and Flynn did very well together and the u21 pair are very much part of future plans.
  • Score of the game, it had to have been Cathal Kenny of Mountbellew 5 minutes before full time with an amazing effort from the outside of his boot, I enjoyed it so I did.
  • Mark Hehir showed his class when taking frees today.
  • If I had to say anything bad, alot of passes went a stray and a bit of ball was lost here and there, but for the first Sunday in February you can’t complain too much.
  • Final word to the supporters, fair play to all that travelled up, it was heartening to see and the players responded in kind.

Overall I am a very happy man tonight to get the two points on the board, I didn’t see it coming but I hope we can push on from this and try to push for promotion. Remember, with Tyrone and Kildare coming to Galway, anything is possible.

Man of the match: Nicky Joyce.

img: advertiser.ie

Leave a Reply

