Leave a comment

National Football League 2011 – My Predictions

MY PREDICTION

6 was the magic number in points last year to stay in Division, with 4 points being the very minimum with that total coming down to score difference. Suggesting of the quality teams thats in Division 1 this year (more so than last year in my opinion) it will be tight at the bottom. Here bellow is where I see the final league standings shaping up.

Bold means win for team||Italic means draw

Round 1
Armagh V Dublin
Mayo V Down
Kerry V Cork
Monaghan V Galway

Round 2
Down V Galway
Dublin V Cork
Mayo V Kerry
Armagh V Monaghan

Round 3
Down v Armagh
Dublin V Kerry
Cork V Monaghan
Galway V Mayo (Big Call)

Round 4
Cork V Down
Mayo V Armagh
Monaghan V Dublin
Kerry V Galway

Round 5
Down V Monaghan
Galway V Cork
Armagh V Kerry
Dublin V Mayo

Round 6
Dublin V Down
Monaghan V Kerry (A spirited comeback from Monaghan (playing for pride))
Mayo V Cork
Armagh V Galway

Round 7
Monaghan V Mayo
Kerry V Down
Galway V Dublin
Cork V Armagh

Team Pld W D L Scr Agn Dif Pts
Kerry 7 5 1 1 N/A N/A N/A 11
Dublin 7 5 0 2 N/A N/A N/A 10
Cork 7 4 1 2 N/A N/A N/A 9
Mayo 7 4 0 3 N/A N/A N/A 8
Galway 7 3 0 4 N/A N/A N/A 6
Armagh 7 2 1 4 N/A N/A N/A 5
Down 7 2 1 4 N/A N/A N/A 5
Monaghan 7 1 0 6 N/A N/A N/A 2

Well they are my predictions, some in your opinion are probably miles off (but I had to give Monaghan a win in there somewhere, and maybe a home game against Kerry will give them a lift). The reason in which I dont see Monagahan doing well is the fact that they are down a lot of regulars and their build up to the NFL has been far from ideal (losing all games in the McKenna Cup).

From my predictions it says that Dublin and Kerry will contest the league final, it looks about right to me. Reason im giving Dublin the edge is due to the fact of their numerous home games against the better teams, (home games for Dublin, bare in mind, is Croke Park). From that it looks like Armagh, Down or Monaghan to be relegated but Galway, I feel will be in the mix too (I hope im proven wrong). I have no score difference filled in for obvious reasons but it will be interesting to see how my predictions pan out!

So it begins on Sunday with the 1st round of matches and best of luck to the Tribesmen and I hope we do enough to stay up!

All the best!

Leave a comment